“I Preached Against Homosexuality, But I Was Wrong”

When you’re a gay Christian who has struggled… and studied… and worked to reconcile what he feels with what he believes and you see a link titled I Preached Against Homosexuality, But I Was Wrong… you click it.  (I did.  You should, too.)

After all, isn’t that short sentence – “I was wrong” – one of the biggest hurdles gay people of faith have to jump over?

  • I believed God was ashamed of me… but I was wrong.
  • I believed scripture condemned me… but I was wrong.
  • I believed hiding was my only option… but I was wrong.

(As you know, it takes a lot of faith to believe something new.  It takes a lot of courage to act on those beliefs – to allow yourself to become something different than you were before.)

And isn’t that same sentence – “I was wrong” – an equally high hurdle for many straight preachers and teachers as they redefine their views of how God feels about homosexuals?

  • I preached what I thought was truth… but I was wrong.
  • I believed I was building the church… but I was wrong.
  • I thought I understood so many things… but I was wrong.

(It also takes a lot of faith for these brothers and sisters to believe something new.  It takes a lot of courage for them to act on those beliefs – to allow themselves to become something different than they were before.)

Isn’t “I was wrong” the message of conversion our churches preach every week? (You can be something different than you were before.)  Isn’t this the faith our faith requires?  (Trust me, God says, I love you with an everlasting love.)  Isn’t this the discipleship our ministers demand? (Like a student who moves from addition to algebra, you should always be growing into new ideas.)

Murray Richmond was a Presbyterian minister who preached against homosexuality… until he changed his mind.  This article is the story of his conversion from condemning the gay community to… well, discipleship.

If you’re a Christian and you’re conflicted because you’re attracted to people with genitals like yours, this article is a must read.  “I was wrong” will give you hope.

If you’re a Christian and you’re trying to decide how to relate to gay people, this article is a must read.  “I was wrong” will give you perspective.

If you’re gay and you’re curious (or cynical or skeptical) about Christians and the ridiculous (or hurtful or hateful) things they sometimes say, this article is a must read.  “I was wrong” may help restore your faith.

Click here to read Murray Richmond’s article “I Preached Against Homosexuality, But I Was Wrong” here.

1 Comment

Filed under Encouragement, Ministers, Role Models, Supporters & Allies

One response to ““I Preached Against Homosexuality, But I Was Wrong”

  1. I’ve read that article and thought it was great! I recently just watched For The Bible Tells Me So. Amazing. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

